New Congressional Districts

Every 10 years after the census is completed the Georgia legislature reformulates the boundaries of each state and local congressional, legislative and other governmental districts. This is called “reapportionment”. 

In accordance with this constitutional mandate the House Legislative and Congressional Reapportionment Committee holds public hearings so that members of the public can submit their views.  I urge you to attend one of these hearings because it’s important that the Republican dominated committees hear all voices.

The House Legislative and Congressional Reapportionment Committee, chaired by State Representative Bonnie Rich (R-Suwanee), and the Senate Reapportionment and Redistricting Committee, chaired by State Senator John F. Kennedy (R-Macon), will hold its next series of joint town hall hearings across the state of Georgia. The schedule for the next three in-person hearings is as follows:


WHEN:          Monday, June 28, 2021
5 – 7 p.m.

WHERE:       Georgia State Capitol
Room 341
206 Washington Street SW
Atlanta, GA 30334


WHEN:          Tuesday, June 29, 2021
5 – 7 p.m.

WHERE:       South Forsyth High School
585 Peachtree Parkway
Cumming, GA  30041


WHEN:          Wednesday, June 30, 2021
5 – 7 p.m.

WHERE:       Dalton State College
Goodroe Auditorium
Room 144
656 College Drive
Dalton, GA 30720

During each town hall-style hearing, members of the committees will hear and receive input from residents regarding the state’s redistricting process.

Georgia residents may also submit written testimony via an online form; to submit a written comment, use the button below.

These in-person public hearings will be livestreamed and archived at

The House and Senate Reapportionment Committees recently announced a complete schedule of joint town hall hearings. Details for future hearings will be announced separately as they become available. Find the schedule at the button below.

It’s important for the public to attend and give their views about redistricting. The decisions made by these committees will affect the voting districts for the next ten years.